New Members

Hart House Chamber Strings is a student run ensemble and welcomes current University of Toronto students and non-student members.

If you're interested in joining us, you're welcome to shoot us an email, join us on Facebook, or simply just show up at our drop-in rehearsals each year in September! This year, our drop-in rehearsal is on Monday, September 10, 2018, from 7:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. in the East Common Room at Hart House.

There is a membership fee to help pay for room rentals, photocopying, and food before concerts.


*“Student” means any student who has paid ancillary fees as part of their academic program, “Member” refers to those who have a full fitness centre membership.

To pay your membership fee, visit the Hart House Information Hub (Main Desk) located on the main floor and inform a staff member that you want to pay for membership to "Hart House Chamber Strings".

Current Members

In the 2017-2018 season, Hart House Chamber Strings had 42 members who paid the membership fee:

Violin I

Violin II


  • Arn Macpherson*+
  • Celine Chau
  • Emily Crawley
  • Haiyang Huang
  • Yi Fei Huang
  • Yuhan Huang
  • Sarah Kim
  • Harry Lau
  • Dongwoo Shin
  • Julia Silano
  • Vanessa Silano
  • Jonah Toth
  • Linshuo Zhang
  • Mary Li
  • Rachel O'Shea*
  • Nora Abdelgadir
  • Annie Beach Johnston
  • Wenjia Dai
  • Myriam Dilindi
  • Yu Harada
  • Daniel Hendrickson
  • Grace Hu
  • Meghan Lambie
  • Seyeon Lee
  • Susan Lin
  • Devon Liu
  • Kamla Persaud
  • Emily Poulton
  • Ting Xiong
  • Ryan Zizzo
  • Broqachel Wu*
  • Ziyan Chen
  • John Lee
  • Nicole Lim
  • Ivan Lung
  • Asa Motha-Pollock



  • Judy Ginsberg*
  • Nina Adler
  • Aisling Baroey
  • Maria Cuevas
  • Grace Deng
  • Ana Graovac
  • Bence Linder
  • Tessa Prasuhn
  • Natalie Yeung
  • Morgan Wolfe
  • Michael Betlej*
  • Robert Kettle

* section principles

+ concert master

The Executive Team

The executive team is formed by Hart House Chamber Strings members who volunteer their time to its logistics and administration. The executive committee is usually formed in April, after the final concert. Here is the current executive team for the 2018-2019 season:

President Ting Xiong
Vice-President Myriam Dilindi
Treasurer Susan Lin
Communications Officer Nicole Ying Xi Lim
Events Coordinator Emily Poulton
Librarian Michael Betlej
Webmaster Yi Fei Huang
1st Violin Section Head Dongwoo (Alex) Shin
2nd Violin and Viola Section Head Anne Beach Johnston
Cello and Bass Section Head Judy Ginsberg
General Executive Team Member Ziyan Chen